Love and 1 Corinthians 13


         Commentary by Peter Amsterdam on 1 Corinthians 13:4-6

         Taken from


            ďLove is very patient and kind,

never jealous or envious,

never boastful or proud

never haughty or selfish or rude.

            Love does not demand its own way,

                 It is not irritable or touchy.

         It does not hold grudges and will hardly

                 even notice when others do it wrong.

         Itís never glad about injustice, but

                 rejoices whenever truth wins out.Ē

                          (1 Corinthians 13:4-6 The Living Bible)



I spent some time going through this list, to expand on what it actually means by looking up some of the definitions of the words, in the hope that it would help us to understand even more about love with ďskin,Ē since we are supposed to interact with others as Jesus does.


So here it is.


Maybe you could call this the ďskin translation.Ē


1. Love is very patient.


It is able to endure waiting or being delayed without becoming annoyed or upset.

It can persevere calmly when faced with difficulties.

Itís able to tolerate difficult circumstances.

It can tolerate being hurt, provoked, or annoyed, without complaint or loss of temper.


2. Love is Kind


It has a generous and warm nature.

It shows compassion.

It has sympathy for the suffering of others, and it shows a desire to help them.

It shows courtesy and cares about others.


3. Love is never Jealous


It doesnít feel suspicious about a rivalís or competitorís influence.

It doesnít get suspicious about others in regard to a loved one.

It doesnít demand excessive loyalty.


4. Love is never Envious


It doesnít have the resentful or unhappy feeling of wanting someone elseís success, or good fortune, their qualities, or their possessions.

It doesnít compare with others.


5. Love is never Boastful


It doesnít make proud statements.

It doesnít say or write something that praises yourself.

It doesnít arrogantly refer to your possessions or your achievements.


6. Love is never Proud.


It doesnít have feelings of superiority or a haughty attitude, believing---often unjustifiably---that you are better than others.

It doesnít have and exaggerated opinion of your own personal worth or abilities.


7. Love is never Haughty.


It doesnít behave in a superior, condescending, or arrogant way.


8. Love is never Selfish.


Itís not concerned with your own interests, needs, and wishes, while ignoring those of others.


9. Love is never Rude.


Itís not ill-mannered.

Itís not disagreeable or discourteous in manner or action.


10. Love does not demand its own way.


11. Love is not Irritable or Touchy.


It isnít easily annoyed or exasperated.

Itís not likely to become, or to make someone else, angry or upset.


12. Love does not hold Grudges.


It doesnít hold feelings of resentment or ill will.


13. Love is never glad about unfair treatment that others experience.


Itís happy when the truth comes out and it solves such matters.



We hope seeing this ďskin listĒ had given you some food for thought. If weíre to be like Jesus, then we have to translate the way Jesus is into our everyday lives.


So letís do the best that we can, shall we?